Pace. Set. Go.

Gotta post it. Gotta post it. Gotta post it … turns into that same annoying song you hear in your head again and again.

It’s on the same as a Brittney Spears’s song. The bad thing about it playing in your head is that you can’t turn it off.

Yes, you can.

One of the hardest things this spring was pacing myself. I wanted to write my stories and edit. I wanted to blog, but time aside, I had a bigger challenge to face. With two classes and a certification test this summer, I know my writing time will be limited again. But, I still have a list of writing goals.

But don’t you just want to let the words go all over the page, the blog, and Twitter?

Yes, a lot of days I just want to write. But, I have had to learn to pace myself. I’m writing tonight because I happened to have a post due for my online class.

Nothing has disrupted my time for writing more than energy. Why? I’m expecting my second child. But, like my first child, jobs, and going to school; it does not stop me from finding a pace for my writing. The moments are short, but I pace myself. I work slowly. If I edit, I want to make sure the story moves a pace suited for the character and story. Do all the pieces connect?

How do you pace yourself?

If you’ve read my blog before you know I have a funny saying: Write like a turtle and edit like a fox. Focusing on the turtle part, I take my time writing. I have moved slower, I guess, because I enjoy it more. I think about the sentences, the characters, and what they would really say. I reach a point in the story where I do not know what will happen next and put it away.

My story, “When Tomorrow Comes,” was published in November 2013. I spent two years writing and editing the story. I changed the beginning three different times. A story I want to finish this summer is called “The Formula.” It is not very long, but it is a story of one thing happening after another.

What are you ready to finish?

I do not know if I’ll finish writing “The Formula.” I hope I will. I hope I will edit it, and be able to enter into something because that is the kind of faith I have in the story. I have learned if I begin writing a story and do not return to it, it was a bad idea. If I hang onto something over a long period of time, I think it’s worth writing.

I spent seven years on Sons of the Edisto. I spend six months to two years on short stories.

Think about the time you spend. If the story is worth it, do you have to finish it right now?

By Rebecca T. Dickinson

Please leave your own word or more. Comments are appreciated!

