The Son I Raised

Son, I loved you from the moment you were born

when they flew you on the helicopter to Charlotte.

I drove and rushed to your side

praying you’d be alright.

Two-and-a-half years ago, I broke your trust.

You and your brother will not speak to me.

You will not acknowledge me on the street.

Today was your birthday.

Yet, I remember you every day.

I brought you brownies, money and a card.

You sent a text.

You said, “Leave the store.

I don’t want to see you today.”

I took home the brownies, money and card

and tried to remember if there is anything left

of the boy I raised.

By Rebecca T. Dickinson

Dedicated to all parents who have lost connection to their children due to divorce and misunderstanding.


Write it Honest

https://rebeccatdickinson.wordpress.com/?s=write+it+honest


Please leave your own word or more. Comments are appreciated!

